Patience (2003)

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrint

Patience, or Bunthorne's Bride, is a comic opera in two acts, with music by Arthur Sullivan and libretto by W. S. Gilbert. First performed at the Opera Comique, London, on April 23, 1881, it moved to the 1,292-seat Savoy Theatre on October 10, 1881, where it was the first theatrical production in the world to be lit entirely by electric light. Henceforth, the G&S comic operas would be known as the Savoy Operas, and both fans and performers of G&S would come to be known as "Savoyards."

Patience was the sixth operatic collaboration of fourteen between Gilbert and Sullivan. It ran for a total of 578 performances, which was seven more than the authors' earlier work, H.M.S. Pinafore, and the second longest run of any work of musical theatre up to that time, after the operetta Les Cloches de.

Patience (or, Bunthornes Bride)

Dramatis Personae

Colonel Calverley
Officers of
Chris Sinclair
Major Murgatroyd
Glen Lee
Lieut, The Duke of Dunstable 
John Parry
Reginald Bunthorne
A fleshy poet
Paul Anderson
Archibald Grosvenor
An Idylic Poet
Philip King
Mr Bunthorne's Solicitor
Gerald Hartley
The Lady Jane
Patricia Robins
The Lady Ella
Elaine Foster
The Lady Angela
Elaine Moore
The Lady Saphir
Nina Lloyd-Hirst
A Dairy Maid
Jane Foster or
Louisa Mould
Ladies of the Chorus               (More Rapturous Maidens)
                                         Joanna Blanchard    
Ann Griffith
Laurine Kay
Ann Storey
                                         Wendy Buxton
Maggie Hicks
Louisa Mould
Sue Sutton
                                         Joyce Cook
Mollie Hodkinson
Anna McPhee
Sonia Welford
                                         Jane Foster
Pat Jones
Marlene Pinchbeck
Gentlemen of the Chorus    (Dragoon Guards)
                                          Mike Austin
John Bundy
Ewen Lewis
Peter Martin